Chocolate Fudge Icing AKA Chocolate Gooey Deliciousness

A homemade cake deserves homemade icing and in my humble opinion a yellow cake NEEDS a gooey chocolate  fudgey icing and I found the perfect chocolate fudge icing recipe courtesy of BettyR on ChefTalk.

This is my first homemade icing so I stuck to the recipe exactly and I Made This:

IMG_4352

 

IMG_4353

 

IMG_4354

 

 

IMG_4357

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups granulated sugar

¼ + 2 tbsp cornstarch-packed

7 tbsp cocoa powder

¾ tsp salt

1 ½ cups boiling water

6 tbsp butter

1 tbsp vanilla

Directions:

BettyR’s original recipe has microwave instructions but I preferred the stove top method

  1. Combine sugar, cornstarch, cocoa, butter, and salt.
  2. Whisk in boiling water then cook over medium heat until thick & bubbly. This will happen quickly so don’t step away and start doing dishes like I did lol
  3. Remove from heat and add butter and vanilla.
  4. Let cool then frost cake!

I suggest you use it to frost this yummy yellow cake 🙂

 

Posted on March 16, 2013, in Sweet Treats and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

On the Write Track

Thoughts on writing for writers and readers

A Number of Things

A blog about writing and other interesting stuff.

Purl & Me

A little look into my life and my crafting......

Makin' It

crafts, food and life

Andrea Designs Blog

This blog was created to share with You the Wonderful World of Handmade...aw

Knit and Tell

My adventures in knitting

