Crispy Avocado BLT Salad

This recipe had me at crispy avocado YUM!

IMG_4251

And don’t fret foodie novices, this was a really easy (but time-consuming) recipe to prepare.  Courtesy of Tasty Kitchen:

Ingredients

  • FOR THE CRISPY AVOCADO:
  • 1 whole Avocado, Semi-firm, Not Mushy
  • Pinch Of Kosher Salt And Pepper
  • ⅓ cups Flour
  • 1 whole Egg Beaten
  • ½ cups Panko
  • 2 Tablespoons Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • Olive Oil, For Frying
  • FOR THE SALAD:
  • Field Greens Or Spring Mix
  • Tomatoes
  • 2 Tablespoons Shaved Parmesan Cheese
  • 2 slices Cooked Bacon, Crumbled
  • FOR THE HONEY-LIME DRESSING:
  • 2-½ Tablespoons Honey
  • 2 Tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 clove Garlic, Minced
  • 3 Tablespoons Fresh Squeezed Lime Juice
  • Pinch Of Salt And Pepper
  • FOR THE SPICY RANCH DRIZZLE:
  • ⅓ cups Ranch Dressing
  • ½ teaspoons Or More Of Chili With Garlic Sauce (or You Can Use Tabasco Or Sriracha)

Instructions

First you need to make your bacon. My preferred method is to use the oven, as shown here by Our Best Bites. Its easy, fast, and relatively mess free (my aluminum foil wasn’t wide enough to line my pan so I doubled up and the oil got in between the seams and got on my pan anyway…ohs wells, I cook I don’t do the dishes lol).

IMG_4233

While the bacon was cooking I made up the dressings.

Honey Lime Dressing:
Combine honey, vinegar, garlic, lime juice, salt and pepper in a Mason jar or shaker; shake until fully combined. Adjust to your liking (sweeter or add more vinegar).

Since I don’t keep mason jars on hand (not to self; keep mason jars on hand) I improvised with a drink tumbler and just put my thumb over the straw hole when I shook it all about.

IMG_4247

Spicy Ranch Dressing Drizzle:
Combine the ranch dressing and Chile with garlic sauce (or Sriracha or Tabasco) in a small bowl and mix until fully incorporated. Adjust to your taste.

I used a teaspoon of Tabasco brand Garlic Pepper sauce; just the perfect amount of spice for my taste buds!

Now it’s time to crisp up some avocados which really is easier than you may think! Cut your avocados in half, remove the seed, and cut lengthwise into about 6 slices. Make sure your pieces are thick enough to hold up to being fried. Dredge in flour, then dip in egg, and finally in panko/parm mixture.

IMG_4235

Meanwhile pre-heat your frying pan on medium high heat then add olive oil. When oil begins to smoke add avocados and fry on each side for a few minutes. They will cook up fast so be sure to stand by ready to turn them. When they are browned on all sides transfer to a paper towel lined plate.

IMG_4238

For the salad portion simply arrange your favorite greens in bowls and add tomatoes and parmesan cheese shavings.

Now top greens with crispy avocados and bacon, and drizzle with spicy ranch and honey lime dressings. Ok so I more than drizzled the dressing…I like me some dressing 🙂

IMG_4254

Enjoy!

IMG_4257 ‘Nuff said

 

About Courtney Cammarota

I'm Courtney Cammarota~I live in South Jersey where I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, mom to 4 crazy dogs, and general leader of the three ring circus that is my life :) I'm a novice knitter and blogger, foodie fanatic, creative crafter, avid lover of books and film, and wanna be world traveler. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and I hope you'll continue to follow my adventures!

Posted on March 13, 2013, in Salads and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

On the Write Track

Thoughts on writing for writers and readers

A Number of Things

A blog about writing and other interesting stuff.

Purl & Me

A little look into my life and my crafting......

Makin' It

crafts, food and life

Andrea Designs Blog

This blog was created to share with You the Wonderful World of Handmade...aw

Knit and Tell

My adventures in knitting

