Challah! I Made my First Bread :)

1862_3925144266193_591460131_n  Inspired by my cousin Sara’s bread making skills, as well as a longing urge to have a useful talent during the zombie apocalypse 😉 I decided to try my hand at bread making. Challah bread is my FAVORITE and at $4.99 a loaf at my local market I figured it would be the perfect test subject.

I searched the web for an easy recipe that would allow me to wuss out on kneading and let my Kitchen Aid stand mixer do all the hard work ( I know, I know, no stand mixer in the zombie apocalypse, but cut me some slack it’s my first time).

I used CardaMom’s recipe on food.com and edited it to make it a little easier for a novice to follow so that you don’t need to go Google-Fu crazy to figure it all out :0)

1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 cup warm water (110°F)
3 teaspoons yeast ( Active Dry)
3 3/4 cups bread flour
4 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
1/4 cup warm water (110°F)

Egg Wash
1 egg yolk, beaten with fork
1 teaspoon water

Directions:

1) Dissolve 1 teaspoon sugar in 1/2 cup water in bowl of mixer. Sprinkle yeast over water and mix. Let stand 15-20 minutes until foamy.

2) Add bread flour, remaining sugar and water, salt, oil, and eggs to yeast mix in mixer bowl then mix with dough hook on low-speed (#2 on Kitchen Aid stand mixer) for about 5 minutes or until dough mixture completely clings to hook.

3) Place in large oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap, place in a warm spot, and allow to rise until doubled, about 90 minutes.

4) Punch down dough (using fist push dough down in the center and then along the sides to push out the air and flatten). Cover, place in warm spot, and allow to rise again until doubled, about 90 minutes.

5) Punch down again then divide dough into 3 equal parts using pizza cutter or knife.

6) Braid dough then place on baking sheet covered with parchment paper and cover with floured towel (terry cloth not cotton) and allow to rise in warm area until doubled, about 60 minutes.

7) Pre-heat oven to 400° Beat yolk and water and gently brush on dough. Bake for 20-30 minutes until bread is golden brown and bread sounds hollow when tapped on bottom.

About Courtney Cammarota

I'm Courtney Cammarota~I live in South Jersey where I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, mom to 4 crazy dogs, and general leader of the three ring circus that is my life :) I'm a novice knitter and blogger, foodie fanatic, creative crafter, avid lover of books and film, and wanna be world traveler. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and I hope you'll continue to follow my adventures!

Posted on March 13, 2013, in Bread and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

On the Write Track

Thoughts on writing for writers and readers

A Number of Things

A blog about writing and other interesting stuff.

Purl & Me

A little look into my life and my crafting......

Makin' It

crafts, food and life

Andrea Designs Blog

This blog was created to share with You the Wonderful World of Handmade...aw

Knit and Tell

My adventures in knitting

